The Mayville State students who attended the career development conference in Fargo February 10 and 11 are pictured above.
  Back row (l-r): Eric Domier, Danny Scholand, Cody Odland, Chris Snook, Josh Seminario, Tim Nordby, Mitch Lacher, and Wesley Bernier.
  Front row (l-r): Bailey Drader, Brittany Olson, Missy Kassube, Ademola Adekunie, Kiah Smith, Amber Montag, Cierra Steele, Nicole Schwanke, Phil Dukart, Nisa Rajput, and A.J. Sanchez.

Sixteen of the 19 Mayville State University students who participated in the North Dakota Collegiate DECA Career Development Conference in Fargo, N.D. February 10 and 11 qualified for participation in the international competition. The annual state conference provides an opportunity for students to compete against students from eleven other North Dakota colleges and universities in business-related events. The international competition will be held in Anaheim, Calif. April 17-20.

In addition, Mayville State Collegiate DECA member Wesley Bernier was elected as state vice president of North Dakota Collegiate DECA for 2013-2014. Wesley, a Mayville State junior, is from Anchorage, Alaska.

Mayville State Collegiate DECA members attending the state conference were: Eric Domier, Mayville, N.D.; Danny Scholand, Buxton, N.D.; Cody Odland, Park Rapids, Minn.; Chris Snook, Newton, N.J.; Josh Seminario, Fairbanks, Alaska; Tim Nordby, Canyon Lake, Calif.; Mitch Lacher, Christine, N.D.; Wesley Bernier, Anchorage, Alaska; Bailey Drader, Arthur, N.D.; Brittany Olson, Hunter, N.D.; Missy Kassube, Eagle Bend, Minn.; Ademola Adekunle, Ibadan, Nigeria; Kiah Smith, Lansford, N.D.; Amber Montag, Finley, N.D.; Cierra Steele, Pingree, N.D.; Nicole Schwanke, Dilworth, Minn.; Phil Dukart, Killdeer, N.D.; Nisa Rajput, Harare, Zimbabwe; and A.J. Sanchez, St. Thomas, N.D. They were accompanied by chapter advisors Dustin Olson and Rob Johnston, MSU Division of Business & CIS faculty members.

Mayville State students who placed in the state competitions held in Fargo are as follows:

  • Accounting: A.J. Sanchez, 3rd Place.
  • Corporate Finance: Phil Dukart, 1st Place; Eric Domier - 2nd Place.
  • Fashion Merchandising & Marketing: Nicole Schwanke - 2st Place; Cierra Steele - 3rd Place.
  • Entrepreneurship Event-Starting A Business: Tim Nordby & Brittany Olson - 3rd Place.
  • Sports and Entertainment Marketing: Bailey Drader & Brittany Olson - 3rd Place.
  • Business Ethics: Eric Domier & A.J. Sanchez - 1st Place.
  • Human Resource Management: Mitch Lacher - 2nd Place; Wesley Bernier - 3rd Place.
  • Restaurant and Food Service Management: Amber Montag - 2nd Place; Kiah Smith - Qualifier.
  • Retail Management: Tim Nordby - Qualifier.
  • Project Management Event: Phil Dukart - 1st Place.
  • Travel and Tourism Marketing: Josh Seminario - Qualifier.
  • International Marketing: Chris Snook & Nisa Rajput - 1st Place; Ademola Adekunle & Tim Nordby - 2nd Place.

Anyone interested in supporting the Mayville State chapter and their trip to the international conference in Anaheim, please contact Dustin Olson at 701-788-4677.