Rick_Karboviak.jpgRick Karboviak was named the recipient of the Orville Johnson Meritorious Service Award at the annual Mayville State University employee recognition banquet held Thursday evening, April 6, 2017. Karboviak is an admissions recruiter for Mayville State. A 2000 Mayville State graduate, he joined the MSU staff in 2014.

The Orville Johnson Meritorious Service Award is given to an employee who shows outstanding dedication, loyalty, and trustworthiness towardMayvilleStateUniversityand his or her fellow employees. Each year, staff members nominate and select a fellow employee to receive the distinguished award.

The fellow Mayville State employees who nominated Rick for the award had this to say about him, “Rick has done a phenomenal job of creating a sense of community on campus through his weekly emails, his blog, and of course, Captain Comet. I think he has made a real difference.”

Karboviak personifies the Captain Comet mascot that appears at events and in social media promoting Mayville State and its programs. Karboviak is also very active with the Comet Athletic Club, the organization that raises scholarship funds for Mayville State athletes.

Orville Johnson is remembered as a faithful Mayville State employee who worked as a custodian from 1959 until his retirement in 1980. Orville passed away on December 17, 1986. Upon his death, his family donated hisUnited Statesmilitary service flag and $10,000 toMayvilleState. The monetary donation is used to help honor and recognizeMayvilleStatestaff members.

As the recipient of the Orville Johnson Meritorious Service Award this year, Rick will have his name engraved on the Orville Johnson plaque (located in the lobby of the Mayville State Campus Center). He also received a framed award certificate and a $75.00 gift certificate to be spent at the Mayville State University Bookstore.

Other nominees for the Orville Johnson Meritorious Service Award this year were Patrick Steele, Katie Richards, Bob Kozojed, Cheryl Angen, Crystal Beggs, Beth Swenson, Mary Trudeau, Craig Keating, David Moeller, Misti Wuori, and Gary Stordahl.

Past recipients of the Orville Johnson Meritorious Service Award are Art Berglie, T. Howard Moen, Phyllis Dakken, Vrenda Bengtson, Avis Larson, Betty Karaim, Ken Eken, Janet Nielson, Rodney Gunderson, Brad Papenfuss, Karoline Jacobson, Marina “Winky” Gummer, Janice Sand, Becky Edinger, Beverly Holt, Janice Jorgensen, Andrea Knudson, Jim Lyng, Beth Swenson, Rendi Johnson-Ebach, Nancy Galde, Claudia Hastings, Dean Kostuck, Bryan Karolus, Tom Moen, Bev Holt, Lou Dauphanais,  Marge Fugleberg, and Alice Rice.