September 25, 2019

Former Mayville State University women’s basketball, softball, and volleyball players will gather during the MSU Alumni Association homecoming festivities scheduled for Oct. 11-13, 2019. A reunion is planned Friday evening, Oct. 11 from 8:30 to 11 p.m. at the Mayville Golf Club. All Mayville State alumni and friends are invited to attend the social 

The Alumni Association’s schedule for Homecoming 2019 also includes a reunion of Jim Lyng’s former student employees. Now retired, Jim was the long-time custodian at Mayville State’s Lewy Lee Fieldhouse. The gathering will take place at the MSU Edson and Margaret Larson Alumni and Leadership Center on Saturday, Oct. 12 from 12:30 to 1:30 p.m. Other activities planned for Oct. 12 include a Comets volleyball alumni game at 10 a.m. in the Lewy Lee Fieldhouse. The annual ceremony of remembrance will be held at the Military Honor Garden, located on the south lawn of the MSU Larson Center, beginning at noon

Several Mayville State University alumni and friends will be honored as part of the annual homecoming festivities. Richard Dean, Maple Grove, Minn., Cassie Leraas, Esmond, N.D., and Jeremy Strand, Portland, N.D., will be inducted into the Mayville State University Athletic Hall of Fame. Mark Frost, Hope, N.D.; Curt Herman, Tolna, N.D.; Earl Larson, Franklin, Wis.; Todd Olson, Fargo, N.D.; and Richard “Dick” Saxlund, West Fargo, N.D.; will be inducted into Mayville State Athletic Coaches Hall of Fame. These folks will be honored during a banquet scheduled for 6 p.m. on Friday, Oct.11 in the MSU Campus Center Luckasen Room. A pre-dinner social will be held from 4 to 5:30 p.m. at the MSU Larson Alumni and Leadership Center.

An all-alumni homecoming brunch is planned for Saturday morning, Oct. 12. It will begin at 9 the Campus Center Luckasen Room. At the brunch, Distinguished Alumni and Distinguished Service Award recipients for 2019 will be recognized, along with this year’s Performing Arts Hall of Fame inductees. All Mayville State alumni and friends are invited to enjoy brunch, celebrate being Mayville State alumni, and join in honoring outstanding Mayville State alumni and friends.

Honorees at the all-alumni homecoming brunch will be Distinguished Alumni Award recipients for 2019 Jane Bjornstad, Chandler, Ariz., and Dr. John Lyng, Minnetonka, Minn.; Distinguished Service Award recipients, Becky Gunderson, Portland, N.D., and Jim Lyng, Mayville, N.D.; and Performing Arts Hall of Fame inductees Michael Lien, Alameda, Calif., and Laurie (White) Nielson, Harwood, N.D.

The public is invited to attend the Athletic and Athletic Coaches Hall of Fame Dinner on Friday evening, Oct. 11, as well as the all-alumni brunch on Saturday morning, Oct. 12. Tickets are available at or by contacting the MSU Foundation at 701-788-4864 or

The Mayville State University Alumni Association has a number of additional homecoming events planned. See all the Homecoming 2019 details at For more information, contact the MSU Office of Alumni Affairs, 701-788-4750 or