MSU President's Newspaper Column

October 14, 2023 

Presentation demonstrates Mayville State’s impact in our state

Dr. Brian Huschle, Vice President for Academic Affairs; Ms. Amber Hill, Vice President for Business Affairs; Dr. Corday Goddard, Dean of Student Affairs; and I had the opportunity to represent Mayville State University in a presentation before the North Dakota Legislative Council Higher Education Committee Wednesday, Oct. 11, 2023. Our presentation gave a general overview of the university and how our work impacts the state. Presentations such as these are a part of the ongoing business of the committee. While the legislature is in session only every-other year, the work of the Higher Education Committee continues in the interim.

The meeting was held on the campus of Valley City State University. During the meeting, Valley City State representatives also gave a general overview, and North Dakota University System personnel gave presentations regarding student financial aid, the higher education funding formula, and the University System capital building fund program.

Some of the highlights of our Mayville State presentation included facts and figures about our students and graduates. Mayville State’s enrollment is 1,048 students this fall, the 10th highest enrollment in our 133-year history. We’ve seen a 42% growth in graduate students over the last 10 years. Of the North Dakota residents enrolled at Mayville State, 81% are freshmen, 57% are sophomores, 61% are juniors, 64% are seniors, and 74% are graduate students.

We are extremely thankful to the state of North Dakota for providing $52,254,901 over two biennia to provide for the renovation of Old Main. This is an enormous project, and we sincerely appreciate the work of the entire legislature and our District 20 legislators, Representative Jared Hagert, Representative Mike Beltz, and Senator Randy Lemm, that made funding possible. Preliminary work is underway, with construction set to begin in July and projected completion and occupancy in the summer of 2026.

Mayville State is evolving, and our people are working hard to meet workforce needs. We gave a quick overview of new and continuing academic programs that are helping to provide graduates qualified to meet these needs, including early childhood certificate programs, a certificate in biotechnology, bachelor’s degree programs in accounting, agribusiness, and allied health, the Master of Education degree and the Master of Arts in Teaching degree, the RN-to-BSN and Master of Science in Nursing programs, a new health care informatics track in the Master of Science in Nursing program, and a proposed Bachelor of Science degree in criminal justice.

Did you know that nearly 800 graduates are teachers or administrators in North Dakota? Seventy-one percent of recent Mayville State graduates reported being employed in North Dakota and/or continuing their education. Ninety-seven percent of all Mayville State graduates are employed and/or are continuing their education. One hundred percent of our graduate nursing students are employed in a field related to their current studies. Eighty-three percent of our Master of Education students are working full-time in North Dakota.

Our comprehensive report on Mayville State University included information on the economic impact the university has in the state and the local community. Data compiled in a report from a North Dakota University System covering fiscal year 2021, shows that Mayville State’s total economic contribution was $62.4 million. The direct economic contribution from Mayville State operations was $24.7 million. The total direct and secondary impact of student spending in the Mayville area was $20.7 million.

We are grateful to all North Dakota legislators for the work they do on behalf of the citizens of North Dakota. Members of the Higher Education Committee are Representatives Mark Sanford, Landon Bahl, Larry Bellew, Claire Cory, Jay Fisher, Karla Rose Hanson, Matt Heilman, Dennis Johnson, Bob Martinson, Mike Nathe, David Richter, Mike Schatz, Cynthia Schreiber-Beck, Steve Swiontek; and Senators Sean Cleary, Robert Erbele, Karen K. Krebsbach, Curt Kruen, Jonathan Sickler, and Ronald Sorvaag. It was our privilege to present our overview of the activities of the university and to thank the legislators for their contributions that are helping North Dakota be the best it can be.