Blue_Diamond_Passport_Participants-web.jpgGold_Diamond_Passport_Participants-web.jpgFMayville_State_Participants-web.jpgifteen Mayville State University Collegiate DECA students participated in the International Career Development Conference (ICDC) in Washington, D.C. April 22-27, 2014. Several MSU students were recognized for their individual performance, and the chapter as a whole received high commendations. The annual conference provides an opportunity for national and international students to compete against each other in business-specific events. In order to attend the conference students had to qualify at the state competition held in Fargo earlier this year.

At ICDC, the Mayville State University chapter received the Community Service Award, which is designed to recognize Collegiate DECA chapters for civic activities performed on campus and in their communities. 

The chapter also earned the Chapter Leadership Passport Award at the Diplomat level, which is the second-highest level honored by the DECA program. The award recognizes those chapters which have excelled in ensuring that their members are actively engaged in the Collegiate DECA program and have far exceeded their chapter goals related to DECA.

In addition to the chapter awards, all fifteen Mayville State students received Individual Leadership Passport Awards. The award recognizes those individuals who have excelled in community service and campus participation, and have high DECA involvement.

Rob Johnston, Mayville State advisor, was recognized as North Dakota Advisor of the Year.

All MSU Collegiate DECA members received Awards of Excellence, meaning they were ranked in the top 30% of their competitions.

Following are the Mayville State competitors, their event, and their place at the international competition:

Business Research - Nisa Rajput and Niralee Ranchod, 1st place; Cierra Steele, Hailey Vold, and Kiah Smith, 2nd place.

Accounting - Rochester Magumbate, 2nd place.

National Management Institute - Josh Seminario, 3rd place.

The following Mayville State Collegiate DECA members were Top 10 Finalists in their competitions:

Hotel & Lodging - Remington Werner.

Project Management - Amber Montag, Kaitlyn Timian.

The following groups received the Award of Excellence (top 30%) in their competition:

International Marketing - Adam Edwards and Leigh Dean.

Business Ethics - Wesley Bernier and Laura Ewert.

“We greatly appreciate all the support we have received throughout the 2013-2014 school year,” said Cierra Steele, marketing/public relations manager for MSU Collegiate DECA. “ Without the help of the campus, community, families, and friends, this year would have not been possible. A special thanks goes to our advisors Dustin Olson and Rob Johnston, and we send a huge thank you to all those whose behind-the-scenes efforts made our conference trip possible.”

Collegiate DECA’s overlying mission is to “prepare emerging leaders and entrepreneurs in marketing, finance, hospitality and management in high schools and colleges around the globe.”  Collegiate DECA is open to all students that hold an interest in business and/or computer information systems. Find & like the MSU Collegiate DECA chapter on Facebook at or follow the chapter on Twitter @MSUDECA. 

Captions for photos:
Top - Blue Diamond Passport Participants
Back Row (left to right): Kiah Smith, Remington Werner, Leigh Dean, Adam Edwards, Rochester Mugumbate, Nikki Roholt.
Front Row (left to right): Hailey Vold, Kaitlyn Timian, and Niralee Ranchod.
Middle - Gold Diamond Passport Participants
Pictured from left to right are Amber Montag, Cierra Steele, Josh Seminario, Wesley Bernier, Nisa Rajput, and Laura Ewert.
Bottom - Mayville State Participants:
Mayville State Collegiate DECA students and advisors who attended the international conference in Washington, D.C. are (back, left to right): advisor Dustin Olson, Wesley Bernier, Kaitlyn Timian, Adam Edwards, Nikki Roholt, Leigh Dean, and advisor Rob Johnston.
Middle Row (left to right): Rochester Mugumbate, Remington Werner, Hailey Vold, Amber Montag, Josh Seminario, Kiah Smith, and Nisa Rajput.
 Front Row (left to right): Laura Ewert, Niralee Ranchod, and Cierra Steele.