April 25, 2018

Misti Wuori was named the recipient of the Orville Johnson Meritorious Service Award at the annual Mayville State University employee recognition banquet held Monday evening, April 23, 2018. Wuori is the Director of Extended Learning and an instructor in sociology at Mayville State.

The Orville Johnson Meritorious Service Award is given to an employee who shows outstanding dedication, loyalty, and trustworthiness toward MayvilleStateUniversity and his or her fellow employees. Each year, staff members nominate and select a fellow employee to receive the distinguished award.

The fellow Mayville State employee who nominated Misti for the award had this to say about her, “I nominate Misti because of her dedication to MSU. I have known Misti for many years and I have seen her dedication and loyalty up close. She genuinely cares about students, staff, and faculty. She is creative and innovative, but also realistic. You can rely on Misti to do what she says she is going to do, which certainly makes her dependable and trustworthy.”

Under Misti’s leadership, the Extended Learning department at Mayville State University has become very successful. In addition to her official duties as Director of Extended Learning, she serves as the local Staff Senate president and represents Mayville State University staff at the state level as well.

Orville Johnson is remembered as a faithful Mayville State employee who worked as a custodian from 1959 until his retirement in 1980. Orville passed away on December 17, 1986. Upon his death, his family donated his United States military service flag and $10,000 to MayvilleState. The monetary donation is used to help honor and recognize MayvilleState staff members.

As the recipient of the Orville Johnson Meritorious Service Award this year, Misti’s name will be engraved on the Orville Johnson plaque (located in the lobby of the Mayville State Campus Center). She also received a framed award certificate and a $75.00 gift certificate to be spent at the Mayville State University Bookstore.

Other nominees for the Orville Johnson Meritorious Service Award this year were Cheryl Angen, Leslie Durkin, Dawn Huard, Jim Morowski, Debi O’Brien, Mindy O’Connor, Brad Papenfuss, Pam Soholt, Gary Stordahl, and Deni Winsand.

Past recipients of the Orville Johnson Meritorious Service Award are Art Berglie, T. Howard Moen, Phyllis Dakken, Vrenda Bengtson, Avis Larson, Betty Karaim, Ken Eken, Janet Nielson, Rodney Gunderson, Brad Papenfuss, Karoline Jacobson, Marina “Winky” Gummer, Janice Sand, Becky Edinger, Beverly Holt, Janice Jorgensen, Andrea Knudson, Jim Lyng, Beth Swenson, Rendi Johnson-Ebach, Nancy Galde, Claudia Hastings, Dean Kostuck, Bryan Karolus, Tom Moen, Bev Holt, Lou Dauphanais,  Marge Fugleberg, Alice Rice, and Rick Karboviak.