June 26, 2023

The North Dakota Associated Press Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association (NDAPSSA) has named their award winners for the 2022-23 year.

Dan Carr, 1978 Mayville State graduate, earned the NDAPSSA Special Achievement Award, the Association’s highest honor. Dan retired after 41 seasons at Linton, finishing his career as the state’s all-time winningest high school basketball coach (801). He was inducted into the ND High School Coaches Association Hall of Fame in 2015, the ND Sports Hall of Fame in 2016, and the Mayville State Athletic Coaches Hall of Fame in 2013.

Mayville State Head Men’s Basketball Coach Brandon McGruder was named male coach of the year. His team was an NDAPSSA Male Team of the Year finalist.

McGruder led the Comets to a 25-6 record and a North Star Athletic Association title. Mayville State finished 12-2 in the NSAA and earned an automatic berth in the NAIA national tournament.

McGruder, who served as an interim head coach during the 2022-23 season, was named the Comets’ head coach on April 4.

The Comets defeated Dickinson State 80-63 in the conference tournament title game. Mayville dropped its opening game at the national tournament 101-92 to Peru State (Kan.).

Thomas Gieske, a senior from Sartell, Minn., averaged 16.3 points and 7.3 rebounds per game and was named to the NAIA All-America third team.