Collegiate DECA state conference February 2022.png

Front row (left to right): Jamison Zaun, Miriam Carignan, Jenna Jarvey, McKinley Kartes, Lauryn Wolfgram, and Samantha Passa.

Middle: Cora Johnson, Ellie Reierson, Dallas Jorgensen, Logan Maus, Cole Dukart, Brooke Roeges, Taylor Stegman, Kaitlynn Thompson, and Julia Kohls. 

Back: Preston Edinger, Marcus Hughes, Brennan Beudin, Ben Johnson, Logan Hoff, Samuel Preston, and Samuel Grayson. 

March 1, 2022

The Mayville State University chapter of Collegiate DECA made a strong impact at the North Dakota Collegiate DECA Career Development Conference in Fargo, N.D. held Feb. 13 and 14, 2022. Of the 23 Mayville State students who participated, 22 qualified for the International Career Development Conference in Baltimore, Md. April 9-12. The Mayville State students competed in business-related events against 102 of their peers representing nine other North Dakota colleges and universities.

DECA prepares emerging leaders and entrepreneurs for careers in marketing, finance, hospitality, and management in high schools and colleges around the globe.

“We are delighted with our chapter’s performance at the state conference,” said Mayville State Professor of Management Rob Johnston, who advises the Collegiate DECA chapter along with Professor of Business Dustin Olson. “We have a lot of freshmen and sophomores who are new to DECA and we’ve had limited state and/or international conference experiences due to the COVID-19 situation during the last couple of years. Our team really surpassed expectations.”

Competitive events and Mayville State winners are as follows:

Corporate Finance: 2nd place - Ben Johnson, Mayville, N.D.

Fashion Merchandising & Marketing: 1st place - Preston Edinger, Mayville, N.D.

Managerial Accounting: 1st place - Cole Dukart, Killdeer, N.D.; 2nd place - Brennen Beaudin, Northwood, N.D.; and 3rd place - Jamison Zaun, Wahpeton, N.D.

Financial Accounting: 2nd place - Lauryn Wolfgram, Thompson, N.D.

Restaurant & Food Service Management: 2nd place - Miriam Carignan, Walhalla, N.D.; 5th place - Cora Johnson, Mayville, N.D.

Retail Management: 1st place - Taylor Stegman, Drayton, N.D.; 3rd place - Logan Hoff, Richardton, N.D.; 5th place - McKinley Kartes, West Fargo, N.D.

Sales Management Meeting: 1st place - Nick Preston, Hillsboro, N.D.; 5th place - Jenna Jarvey, Grand Forks, N.D.

Travel & Tourism: 1st place - Marcus Hughes, Thompson, N.D.; 4th place - Samantha Passa, Barnesville, Minn.; 5th place - Sam Preston, Hillsboro, N.D.

Human Resource Management: 1st place - Julia Kohls, Mayville, N.D.

Sports & Entertainment Marketing: 1st place - Preston Edinger, Mayville, N.D., and Marcus Hughes, Thompson, N.D.; 2nd place - Nick Preston, Hillsboro, N.D. and Sam Preston, Hillsboro, N.D.; 3rd place - Brennen Beaudin, Northwood, N.D., and Logan Hoff, Richardton, N.D.

Professional Sales: 1st place - Logan Maus, Thompson, N.D.

Business Research: 1st place - Julia Kohls, Mayville, N.D., and Miriam Carignan, Walhalla, N.D.

Business Ethics: 2nd place - Julia Kohls, Mayville, N.D., and Lauryn Wolfgram, Thompson, N.D.; 3rd place - Samantha Passa, Barnesville, Minn., and Ellie Reierson, Frazee, Minn.; 4th place - Miriam Carignan, Walhalla, N.D., and Jenna Jarvey, Grand Forks, N.D.

Event Planning: 1st place - Brooke Roeges, Baldur, Manitoba Canada, and Taylor Stegman, Drayton, N.D.; 2nd place - McKinley Kartes, West Fargo, N.D., and Jamison Zaun, Wahpeton,, N.D.

Financial Statement Analysis: 2nd place - Ben Johnson, Mayville, N.D., and Cole Dukart, Killdeer, N.D.

International Marketing: 1st place - Samuel Grayson, Ipswich, Australia, and Kaitlynn Thompson, Hatton, N.D.

Hotel & Lodging: 2nd place - Brooke Roeges, Baldur, Manitoba Canada; 4th place - Logan Maus, Thompson, N.D.; 5th place - Ellie Reierson, Frazee, Minn.

Mayville State also brought home two additional individuals awards. The North Dakota Collegiate DECA Outstanding Service Award went to Jamison Zaun, Wahpeton, N.D., and McKinley Kartes, West Fargo, N.D. This chapter leadership award is designed to recognize Collegiate DECA student members for their leadership in their community, on their campus, and with their chapter.

The successful conference was capped off with the announcement that Julia Kohls, Mayville, N.D., and Jamison Zaun, Wahpeton, N.D., were elected to state officer positions. Julia will serve as president of North Dakota Collegiate DECA and Jamison was re-elected to the position of vice president for North Dakota Collegiate DECA for the 2022-23 school year.