February 15, 2022

Nine Mayville State University students have been selected to receive North Dakota Space Grant NASA Scholarships. The funding is provided by the North Dakota Space Grant Consortium (NDSGC) for the 2021-22 academic year. It is intended for students pursuing science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) degrees.

The recipients are Austin Urlaub, Devils Lake, N.D.; Riley Wass, Devils Lake, N.D.; Samantha Passa, Barnesville, Minn.; Ashlyn Tingey, Brigham City, Utah; Brittney Deitz, Climax, Minn.; Kaitlin Ensign, Buxton, N.D.; Ellie Reierson, Frazee, Minn.; Trevor Gravseth, Cooperstown, N.D.; and Paul MacSteves, Williston, N.D.

“These scholarships are a fantastic way to support our students who have programs of study within the STEM fields,” said Dr. Joseph Mehus, MSU Associate Professor of Biology, INBRE researcher, and chair of the Division of Science and Mathematics. “As the division chair and a previous recipient of the NASA scholarship (2003 and 2004), I understand the need to support the ever-challenging and diverse needs in science, technology, engineering, and math. I am so proud of our students and congratulate them for receiving this honor.”

The main objective of the NDSGC is to provide and support opportunities for students to pursue studies and research in STEM fields and prepare them for careers that support NASA’s goals and the high-tech workforce development needs of North Dakota.