Undergraduate_Research_in_Molecular_Science_poster_contest-web.jpgTwo Mayville State University students, Katelyn Ogburn and Paige O’Connor, participated in a research poster competition Saturday, Oct. 1. The competition was a part of the 11th annual Undergraduate Research in Molecular Science meeting held Sept. 30 and Oct. 1 at Minnesota State University Moorhead.

Katelyn Ogburn, Mayville, N.D. was one of two students who won paid conference registration to the American Chemical Society Great Lakes Regional Meeting in Fargo next June. Paige O’Connor, St. Michael, Minn., was one of four students who won a one-year membership to the American Chemical Society.

The meeting was attended by undergraduate students involved in chemistry, biochemistry, and molecular biology research in Minnesota, North Dakota, and the surrounding region. Featured speakers were Dr. Marissa Schafer and Dr. Andrew Haak, who spoke on cellular senescence as a driver of the fibrotic pulmonary disease. Dr. Schafer is a postdoctoral fellow in the Department of Physical medicine and Rehabilitation within the Robert and Arlene Kogod Center on Aging at Mayo Clinic. Dr. Haak is a postdoctoral fellow in the department of physiology and biomedical engineering at Mayo Clinic. Both earned their undergraduate degrees from Minnesota State University Moorhead.

The Undergraduate Research in Molecular Science meeting was sponsored by the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, the American Chemical Society, Bemidji State University, Concordia College and Minnesota State University Moorhead.

Photo caption: Mayville State students Paige O’Connor and Katelyn Ogburn (sixth and seventh from left) are pictured with the other Undergraduate Research in Molecular Science poster contest participants.