poster award 04-2022.jpgMay 3, 2022

Mayville State University student researchers and their faculty mentors participated in the North Dakota EPSCoR ND-ACES 2022 state conference held in Fargo on April 6, 2022. The Mayville State group won the Best Poster Presentation Award for the Materials Design Pillar. The undergraduate group from Mayville State was up against graduate students from other North Dakota University System institutions in the competition.

The Mayville State team included students Julia Kohls, Mayville, N.D.; Trevor Gravseth, Cooperstown, N.D.; Brooke Roeges, Baldur, Manitoba; Hayle Boechler, Wilton, N.D.; and Madisen Knudsvig, Mayville, N.D.; and Mayville State faculty members Dr. Khwaja Hossain, Professor of Biology; and Dr. Michael Kjelland, Assistant Professor of Biology.

The topic of the Mayville State research presented in the poster is “3D Bioprinting Using Human Cancer and Stem Cells with Novel Arabinoxylan Bioink.”

What does that mean? In short, the research team is attempting to determine if arabinoxylan derived from wheat bran can be used successfully as a 3D bioprinting bioink that can be used in human cancer and stem cell research.

“I am extremely proud of our students and their faculty mentors,” said Mayville State University President Dr. Brian Van Horn. “Not only are these students gaining extremely valuable research experience as undergraduates, they are working on projects that have a valuable positive impact in our world. I commend our faculty researchers for their extraordinary efforts to provide opportunities for students.”

The ND EPSCoR state office provides leadership and coordination to broaden and diversify North Dakota's science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) workforce pathway from elementary through graduate school; supports and grows statewide STEM research efforts and competitiveness at participating institutions of higher education; and conveys the impact of STEM research, outreach, and workforce efforts to North Dakota stakeholders. The North Dakota Established Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR) operations and programming activities are funded by state appropriated dollars via the North Dakota University System.