Lona_Smith-web.jpgLona Smith, Assistant Professor of Sociology, was named Mayville State University Teacher of the Year for 2015-2016. The award was presented to Smith at the annual Academic and Student Senate Awards Program held at Mayville State University on Saturday, April 30, 2016.

Lona Smith is known as an effective teacher who listens to and engages with students, meets the needs of a diverse audience, and provides a welcoming, caring attitude toward her students. She has a strong sociology perspective and pushes students to think outside the box and consider their own world views, while challenging perspectives. Ms. Smith enjoys helping students transition through the college experience. She is an SOS advisor who is student-centered and enthusiastic.

Other nominees for Mayville State’s 2015-2016 Teacher of the year were Kelli Odden, Lynn Dilivio, Brittany Hagen, Jeff Sieg, Steven Petherbridge, John Pederson, Gene Levitt, Erin Kunz, Ashley Vande Veen, Fred Strand, Scott Parker, Becky Gunderson, Mark Skean, Kate Keating, Dustin Olson, Dean Johnson, Mike Bakken, Robert Tangsrud, Jeff Hovde, Aaron Kingsbury, Joseph Mehus, Kari Mathys, Robert Miess, Donalee Strand, and Sarah Anderson.

Each year, all Mayville State students are asked to make nominations for the Mayville State Teacher of the Year Award. The Student Senate meets to review nominations, then nominees are asked to complete a questionnaire. A short interview session is subsequently held with each of the nominees. Selections are made by weighing the student nominations, information submitted on the questionnaire, and information gleaned in the interview process. The final selection must be approved by a 2/3 majority vote of the MSU Student Senate.

Mayville State Teachers of the Year receive an engraved plaque and also have their names added to a plaque that is displayed in the Mayville State University Campus Center.