Jonathan Raywalt, a Mayville State University student from Mayville, N.D., has been awarded a North Dakota Fire Chief’s Association Scholarship in the amount of $500 for the 2012-2013 academic year. Jonathan is an active member of Mayville Fire & Rescue Services, and a sophomore at Mayville State pursuing a degree in chemistry. He is a member of the Mayville State football team.

Raywalt and his family members are all active in the community. His step-father is also a member of the fire department, while his mother is an emergency medical technician with the West Traill Ambulance Service. As a family, they enjoy being together and participate in outdoor activities in their free time.

Each year, the North Dakota Fire Chief’s Association offers scholarships at North Dakota colleges. To be eligible for the scholarship, the student recipient’s parent must be an active firefighter in the state of North Dakota, volunteer or full-time; and the student must have at least a 2.5 grade point average in the last scholastic year. The son or daughter of a deceased firefighter who was active in North Dakota at the time of death is also eligible. The financial aid committee or officer of the college or university makes the selection based on the eligibility requirements. This year, scholarships were awarded at Mayville State University, Dakota College at Bottineau, Bismarck State College, and North Dakota State University.