salmon passa.jpgNovember 13, 2023

The annual MSU Foundation Honor Society President’s Dinner, held Wednesday evening, Oct. 25, 2023, gave tribute to many of Mayville State’s generous and faithful philanthropists. The Honor Society includes those who have made lifetime cumulative gifts amounting to $10,000 or more through the MSU Foundation. Gifts include contributions to all projects at Mayville State, including academic scholarships, facility improvements, Comet Athletic Club, Music Makers, and more.

“It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to recognize the members of the Honor Society and to thank them for their outstanding support that is so critical to the well-being of Mayville State University,” said Mayville State University President Dr. Brian Van Horn.

van horn miess.jpgThe Honor Society is organized into clubs based on various giving levels. MSU Foundation Executive Director Dr. Lon Jorgensen was excited to announce that because of the continuing generosity of Mayville State alumni and friends, two additional levels are being added. The 1889 Club will recognize donors of $5,000,000 and more in cumulative giving, while the Comet Club will recognize cumulative gifts of $2,000,000 to $4,999,999.

The Honor Society Bronze Club includes donors of $10,000-$24,999; the Silver Club, donors of $25,000-$49,999; the Gold Club, donors of $50,000-$99,999; the Platinum Club, donors of $100,000-$249,999; the Diamond Club, donors of $250,000-$499,999; the Ambassador Club, donors of $500,000-$749,999; the Legacy Club, donors of $750,000-$999,999; and the Founder, donors of $1,000,000-$1,999,999.

Over the last year, Terry Bachmeier, Jon and Betsy Ewen, and the Gransberg Family Estate joined the Founder Club level. It was announced that the million-dollar gift of the Gransberg Family was only the second-ever single gift of that magnitude to the university.

The honor roll currently includes more than 250 benefactors, including individuals, couples, businesses, matching gift programs, and other organizations, who have given a cumulative total of $10,000 or more over the years.

van horn eastman.jpgThis year, several new members joined the Bronze Club. They are Jeff Eliason, Matthew and Mary Glessner, Lon and Michele Jorgensen, Gerard and Joni Keller, Michael and Cathy Kolness, Scott and Leah Larson, and Scott and Tami Parker.

Jonathan and Kari Bakkum, Margit Eastman, Martin and Diane Johnson, Mark Osland, and Robert and Delaine Walker moved up to the Silver Club. David and Val Egge, Andy and Bi Kjos, Rob and Kimberly Lauf, Robert Miess, Michael and Jennifer Osland, Ralph Engelstad Arena, and Portland VFW went up to the Gold Club; Donna Rio and Jeremy Strand joined the Platinum Club; and Curt and Lydia Larson moved into the Diamond Club. Terry Bachmeier, Jon and Betsy Ewen, and the Gransberg Family Estate became members of the Founder Club.  

“We are so very fortunate to be blessed with loyal alumni and friends who truly care about Mayville State University and who give of their financial and other resources to support the university,” said Lon Jorgensen. “This steadfast support is crucial to Mayville State’s success.”

The 2023 Honor Society president’s dinner was sponsored by Bell Bank Wealth Management. Happy Harry’s Bottle Shops of Grand Forks and Fargo contributed as well, as did McGough Construction of Fargo-Moorhead.

Eliason Van Horn Scott Tami.jpgIf you’d like to make a financial contribution to Mayville State University or are interested in learning more about the MSU Foundation Honor Society, please call the MSU Foundation at 701-788-4687. 

See the current list of Honor Society members.

Photo captions

Top: Mayville State students Tim Salmon (left) and Emma Passa each gave remarks during the Honor Society Recognition Dinner program. On behalf of all Mayville State students, these two representatives thanked Mayville State’s generous donors who, through their financial support, are helping students achieve their educational goals.

Second: Mayville State University President Dr. Brian Van Horn (left) congratulates Dr. Bob Miess on his new membership in the Gold Club of the Honor Society. Dr. Miess is a long time member of the Mayville State faculty and is currently Professor of Chemistry, Science, and Mathematics.

Third: Margit Eastman (right) was recognized for her membership in the Silver Club of the Honor Society.

Bottom: Jeff Eliason and Scott and Tami Parker are among the newest members of the Honor Society Bronze Club. Pictured from left to right are Jeff Eliason, Brian Van Horn, Scott Parker, and Tami Parker.