stegman gerber.jpgOctober 26, 2021

The annual MSU Foundation Honor Society president’s dinner, held Thursday evening, Oct. 21, 2021, gave tribute to many of Mayville State’s generous and faithful philanthropists. The Honor Society includes those who have made lifetime cumulative gifts amounting to $10,000 or more through the MSU Foundation. Gifts include contributions to all projects at Mayville State, including academic scholarships, facility improvements, Comet Athletic Club, Music Makers, and more.

Slaathaug Moen.jpg“It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to recognize the members of the Honor Society and to thank them for their outstanding support that is so critical to the well-being of Mayville State University,” said Mayville State University President Dr. Brian Van Horn.

Being able to hold the Honor Society Dinner was especially meaningful this year as the event was cancelled in 2020 out of caution related to the Caronavirus Pandemic.

In addition to recognizing Mayville State alumni and friends for their financial support for Mayville State University, Lute Simley was “adopted” by the Mayville State University Alumni Association. McGillis.jpgThis was done in recognition of Simley’s over-the-top volunteer landscaping support and services that have been instrumental in making the grounds, including the Military Honor Garden, Garden of Personal Service, and Lyng Garden of Comet Pride, a jewel on the Mayville State campus.

Lande.jpgThe Honor Society is organized into clubs based on various giving levels. The Bronze Club includes donors of $10,000-$24,999; the Silver Club, donors of $25,000-$49,999; the Gold Club, donors of $50,000-$99,999; the Platinum Club, donors of $100,000-$249,999; the Diamond Club, donors of $250,000-$499,999; the Ambassador Club, donors of $500,000-$749,999; the Legacy Club, donors of $750,000-$999,999; and the Founder, donors of $1,000,000 and more.

Cruff.jpgThe honor roll currently includes more than 250 benefactors, including individuals, couples, businesses, matching gift programs, and other organizations, who have given a cumulative total of $10,000 or more over the years.

This year, several new members joined the Bronze Club. They are Jeffry and Dana Bachmeier, Edward Birmingham, Farmers Union Insurance, Ardis Haaland, John and Jan Klocke, Michael Kuntz, John Murphy, Mark Osland, and Lynn Slaathaug Moen and Charlie Moen.

DECA.jpgSteve and Linda Hilstad, Donald and Leah McIntyre, Midcontinent Foundation, Ralph Engelstad Arena, Clark and Pam Soholt, Matthew Worner, Richard and Marilyn Holman, Martin and Diane Johnson, James Lande, and PEO Sisterhood Chapter S moved up to the Silver Club.

Cathy and George Fleming, Donna Rio, Jeremy Strand, Joel Thorsrud, Dawn Cruff, and Richard and Vicki Fugleberg advanced to the Gold Club, while Lowell and Cynthia Nelson, Sanford Health, and Alex Stern Foundation moved into the Platinum Club, and Terry Bachmeier went up to the Ambassador Club.

The McGillis family, Larry and Dixie McGillis and Corey and Corey and Tracy McGillis, advanced to the Legacy Club.  

“We are so very fortunate to be blessed with loyal alumni and friends who truly care about Mayville State University and who give of their financial and other resources to support the university,” said MSU Foundation Executive Director Lon Jorgensen. “This steadfast support is crucial to Mayville State’s success.”

The 2021 Honor Society president’s dinner was sponsored by Bell Bank Wealth Management.

If you’d like to make a financial contribution to Mayville State University or are interested in learning more about the MSU Foundation Honor Society, please call the MSU Foundation at 701-788-4687.  

Photo Captions

Top: Mayville State seniors Taylor Stegman (left), Drayton, N.D., and Jack Gerber (right), Mayville, N.D., brought greetings and messages of gratitude to the Honor Society members on behalf of all Mayville State University students.

Second: Lynn Slaathaug Moen (left) and her husband, Charlie Moen (not pictured), are new members to the Bronze Club of the MSU Foundation Honor Society. Lynn is pictured with MSU President Dr. Brian Van Horn.

Third: Pictured from left to right are Larry McGillis, Dixie McGillis, and MSU President Dr. Brian Van Horn. The McGillis family moved u to the Legacy Club of the MSU Foundation Honor Society, in recognition of their lifetime gifts of more than $750,000 to Mayville State.

Fourth: Jim Lande (right) is pictured with MSU President Dr. Brian Van Horn. Jim was recognized at the dinner for moving up to the Honor Society Silver Club.

Fifth: Mayville State alumna Dawn Cruff was recognized for moving to the Honor Society Gold Club.

Bottom: Members of the Mayville State Collegiate DECA Club and their advisor, Dustin Olson, were on hand to provide a coat check for those who attended the Honor Society Recognition Dinner. Pictured from left to right are Dusty Olson, Jamison Zaun, Miriam Carignan, McKinley Kartes, and Brooke Roeges.