Anderson_in_Norway-web.jpgSarah K. Anderson, Ph.D., assistant professor of education at Mayville State, was a presenter at the 40th annual conference of the American Studies Association of Norway (ASANOR) October 23, 2015 in Stavanger, Norway. Her presentation and paper accepted for publication involved bounded case study research of technology in teaching. It provided a look at how educators transform learning experiences and create personal learning networks.

Dr. Anderson was a Fulbright Roving Scholar in Norway during the 2011-2012 academic year. As a result of her conference-related scholarship, the members of ASANOR created a special session on technology in education. They invited upper-secondary teachers to attend, in an effort to bridge partnerships between faculty at the University of Stavanger and local teachers. The 2015-2016 Fulbright Roving Scholars were invited to present and collaboratively the panel began the three-day forum of exploring interrelationships between technological and sociocultural developments.

Beyond her conference involvement, while in Norway, Dr. Anderson conducted community-building and English language sessions with more than 100 lower-secondary students and professional development with teachers at Kruseløkka Ungdomeskole in Sarpsburg, Norway. She also met with representatives from the American College of Norway to arrange study abroad opportunities for Mayville State University students, and began discussions about MSU’s participation in the Nobel Peace Prize Forum held in Minneapolis each summer.

Dr. Anderson’s work also included consultation with a colleague at NATO in Belgium, and another colleague at an international baccalaureate school in Oslo. Dialogue topics included teacher mentoring and professional learning, effective teaching methods in a response to intervention model, and curriculum adoption.

Photo caption: Dr. Sarah Anderson is pictured with the current Fulbright Roving Scholars. Anderson was a Fulbright Roving Scholar during the 2011-2012 academic year. Pictured from left to right are John Hanson, Sarah Anderson, Andy Meyer, and Torran Anderson.