sportsmen_raffle_web.jpgThe seventh annual Mayville State University Comet Athletic Club Sportsmen’s Raffle event held Saturday evening, September 7 at the Mayville Armory, was a huge success. Proceeds will be used to support scholarships for Mayville State University student athletes. This support is key in attracting student athletes to play on Mayville State teams.

The highlight of the evening was the drawing for 60 guns that were given away to individuals who had purchased raffle tickets for a chance to win. The event was attended by about 325 people who enjoyed dinner and had an opportunity to participate in a variety of other raffles with the chance of winning some terrific prizes.

Tom Moe of Mayville emceed the program. The addition of sound, lighting, and audio-visual effects provided by HB Sound & Light of Grand Forks, N.D. enhanced the evening’s activities. A cash bar was provided by Stub’s Bar of Mayville. MSU Dining Services cooked and served the meal.

“We at Mayville State extend our since thanks to all who played a part in the success of the seventh annual Sportsmen’s Raffle,” said Mayville State University President Gary Hagen. “This activity is extremely important to Mayville State, and specifically Mayville State Athletics.”

Chad Kyllo of Mayville was the lucky winner in the progressive auction of a Kimber 84L 270 with 3x9 Leupold. Broc Lietz of Casselton, N.D. and Brad Amb of Portland, N.D. served as auctioneers in this exciting auction.

Finley Motorsports of Finley, N.D. sponsored the raffle of a 2013 Polaris 500 Ranger all-terrain vehicle. Dale Kraling/Precision Electric, Mayville, Thompson, N.D., was the winner of the ATV. Cash consolation prizes were won by Tim Strand of Mayville, Floyd Knudson of Mayville; Citizens Insurance Agency, Finley, N.D.; Tracy Eberthardt of Aneta, N.D.; Dru Schwab of Thompson, N.D.; Tom Soholt of Mayville, N.D.; Brady Hanson of Hatton, N.D.; and Neil Halvorson of Portland, N.D.

A number of side raffle prizes were also given away at the event. Among the winners was Luke Nielsen of Portland, who won a gun cabinet package that had been donated by Rob and Kim Lauf of Mayville. Tyler Anderson, Mayville, N.D., won a John Deere gun safe donated by Hunter Equipment of Hunter, N.D. Shannon Bergstrom of Portland won a grill. Vickie Soholt of Mayville, Neil Race of Hatton, and James Nelson of Portland each won $500.

The Comet Athletic Club Sportsmen’s Raffle is held each year to raise funds for scholarships for Mayville State’s student-athletes. Tickets for the gun raffle are sold for $100 each. A limited number of tickets is sold each year, allowing for a one-in-10 chance to win a gun.

“We are grateful to the many people who purchased raffle tickets and participated in the raffle event activities on September 7,” said Comet Athletic Club board president and Sportsmen’s Raffle organizer Harlan Johnson of Mayville. “We also extend our sincere thanks to Tom Moe, who served as our emcee for the evening, to Finley Motorsports, Hunter Equipment, the Laufs, Scheel’s, and Stub’s Bar for their support, and to the Comet Athletic Club board members who worked hard to make it happen.”

The list of winners in the 60-gun giveaway follows:

1. Winchester SX3 Camo 3½ - Al Hoyt, Mayville, N.D.

2. Henry H001 Lever action blue 22 LR – Tim Garrett, Mayville, N.D.

3. Remington 700 ADL 22-250 package with scope – Jerod Klabo, Mayville, N.D.

4. Taurus 709 9mm auto – Casey Abentroth, Caledonia, N.D.

5. Mossberg Flex 500 12ga – Jerry Foss, Finley, N.D.

6. Ruger SR 22 pistol – Alia Cota, Mayville, N.D.

7. CVA Wolf package .50 – Don Jallo, Portland, N.D.

8. Henry Big Boy Lever 44 mag – Bill Balstad, Portland, N.D.

9. Weatherby Vanguard II 25-06 – Billy Huber, Fargo, N.D.

10. Ruger Single Six 22-22mag – Keith Jacobson, Hope, N.D.

11. Stoeger 3500 3½” 12ga auto camo -  Harlan Pladson, Hatton, N.D.

12. Browning X-Bolt Hunter 30-06 – Lonny Nelson, Hunter, N.D.

13. Henry Golden Boy 22 LR – Torrey Ruetter, Cooperstown, N.D.

14. Ruger 10-22 tactical with laser sight – Dustin Lee, Portland, N.D.

15. Stoeger Condor 20ga O/U – Larry O’Brien, Mayville, N.D.

16. Traditions Colt Navy 44 Redipack – Matt Domier, Casselton, N.D.

17. Smith & Wesson Bodyguard w/laser 380Acp – Aaron Soholt, Mayville, N.D.

18. Howa 150 Snow Camo 22-250 package – Dennis Heskin, Hatton, N.D.

19. Rossi 92 SS Lever 44 mag – Jeremy Kainz, Fargo, N.D.

20. Savage 93R17 17 HMR package – Mike Workin, Galesburg, N.D.

21. Thompson Center Impact .50 – Devin Gierszewski, Portland, N.D.

22. Uberti Cattleman Pearl/SS Revolver 45LC – Chad Kyllo, Mayville, N.D.

23. Franchi / Benelli Affinity 12ga auto – Jeff Ringsted, Cooperstown, N.D.

24. Remington 870 Express 12 ga – Sophie Kloster, Mayville, N.D.

25. Savage 93R17 17 HMR Camo package – JR Riski, Minto, N.D.

26. Remington 700 SPS 700 Varmint 22-250 – Rodney Frederick, Aneta, N.D.

27. Weatherby P08 12ga pump – Scott Larson, Mayville, N.D.

28. Beretta PX4 40 auto – Gregg Holder, Kindred, N.D.

29. Winchester Black Shadow 12ga pump – Marshall Kaldor, Fargo, N.D.

30. Marlin XR7 25-06 – Dana Kaldor, Hillsboro, N.D.

31. Thompson Center Triumph Bone Collector – Brian Thome, Rochester, Minn.

32. Winchester SX3 20ga Wood – Johnny Jorgensen, Mayville, N.D.

33. Ruger Vaquaro 45 LC revolver 5½ - Tom Stocking, Mayville, N.D.

34. Tikka T-3 25-06 Stainless with stainless 4x12 scope – Richard Fugleberg, Portland, N.D.

35. Winchester model 70 Featherweight 243 – Liza Sorteberg, Fargo, N.D.

36. Stoeger Coach 12ga Stainless SS – Randy Garrett, Blanchard, N.D.

37. Traditions Buckstalker .50 package – Larry Domier, Mayville, N.D.

38. Beretta M-9 9mm auto – Bob Lebacken, Reynolds, N.D.

39. Legacy Escort Magnum Youth 20 ga – Maynard Satrom, Hope, N.D.

40. Mossberg 100 ATR Bolt 270 – David Johnson, Mayville, N.D.

41. Ruger American 243 – Randy Schermerhorn, Pelican Rapids, Minn.

42. Remington 783 Bolt Action 30-06 – Don Meyer, West Fargo, N.D.

43. Ruger SR45 45 Auto – Jim Holkesvig, Portland, N.D.

44. Stoeger Condor 12ga O/U – Jeff Eliason, Thompson, N.D.

45. Marlin 336 combo with scope – Jon Chandler, Portland, N.D.

46. Savage Axis Stainless package – Daniel Overmoe, Mayville, N.D.

47. Sig Sauer 1911 22 auto – Raymond Moore, Hope, N.D.

48. Springfield XD Compact 9mm auto – Wade Nelson, Portland, N.D.

49. Savage Axis 22-250 package – Pamela Mostad, Minot, N.D.

50. Benelli Super Nova 12ga 31/2” camo – Pete Johnson, New London, Minn.

51. Remington 870 Express 20 ga – Mike Amundson, Clifford, N.D.

52. Ruger GP 100 357 6’ – Mike Amb, Hatton, N.D.

53. Taurus Judge 410 / 45 LC – Tanner Enger, Mayville, N.D.

54. Henry Golden Boy 17 HMR – Troy Schimke, Mayville, N.D.

55. Mossberg 4x4 bolt action 7 mm – Mark Odden, Mayville, N.D.

56. Springfield XDM 40 auto – Neil Adam, Reynolds, N.D.

57. Remington 887 12ga 31/2” camo – Craig Hanson, Cottage Grove, Minn.

58. Savage 114 Deluxe Stainless/wood 270 with scope – Matt Mauna, St. Cloud, Minn.

59. Remington 1911 R-1 45  - Susan Sayer, Finley, N.D.

60. Browning Silver Hunter 12ga – Kyle Kaldor, Perham, Minn.