Mayville_State_Collegiate_DECA_at_state_conference_02-2017.jpgMembers of the Mayville State University Collegiate DECA chapter participated in the North Dakota Collegiate DECA Career Development Conference held in Fargo Feb. 12 and 13, 2017.The annual state conference provides an opportunity for students to compete in business-related events. About 160 students representing ten North Dakota colleges and universities were involved in the competitions.

Mayville State’s chapter made a strong impact at this year’s conference, qualifying 14 of 20 students for the international competition, which will take place in Anaheim, Calif. April 19-22. Award winners from Mayville State were:

Accounting: Jacob Pladson, Hatton, N.D. - Third Place;

Business Research: Sammy Carlin, Hallock, Minn., Jordan Johnson, Hatton, N.D., and Rhonda Hodges, Mayville, N.D. - First Place;

Hotel and Lodging: Alicia Nopola, Silver Bay, Minn. - Fourth Place;

Entrepreneurship – Starting a Business: Anthony Stockfish, Lake Elsinore, Calif. - Second Place;

Entrepreneurship – Growing your Business: Maddie Gallardo, Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and Orson Gallardo, Tegucigalpa, Honduras - First Place;

Professional Sales: Ben Myszkowski, Hatton, N.D. - Second Place;

Financial Statement Analysis: David Dukart, Killdeer, N.D., and Jacob Pladson, Hatton, N.D. - First Place;

International Marketing: Aidan Quinn, Belfast, Ireland, and Conor Quinn, Belfast, Ireland - First Place;

Sports and Entertainment Marketing: Joe Guidry, Elk Grove, Calif., and Nolan Handley, Kelowna, B.C., Canada - First Place.

In addition to a great showing in the competitive events, Mayville State University’s DECA chapter was also recognized with the Community Service Award. The award is designed to recognize Collegiate DECA chapters for civic activities performed in their community.

MSU brought home two additional individual awards, as well. The North Dakota Collegiate DECA Outstanding Service Award went to Jordan Johnson, Hatton, N.D., and Donte Stevens, Opa-Locka, Fla. This award is designed to recognize Collegiate DECA student members for leadership on their campuses and with their chapters.

The successful conference activities were capped off with the announcement that Maddie Gallardo and Jordan Johnson have been elected to serve as vice presidents for North Dakota Collegiate DECA during the 2017-2018 school year.

Photo caption: 

Back (l-r): Advisor Rob Johnson, Ben Myszkowski, John Tongilava, Jace Pederson, Aiden Quinn, Alicia Nopola, Gabe Salander, Daniel Lindgren, Nolan Handley, Conor Quinn, Adam Overmoe, and advisor Dusty Olson.

Front: Joe Guidry, Orson Gallardo, Maddie Gallardo, Jordan Johnson, Rhonda Hodges, Sammy Carlin, Anthony Stockfish, Tristan Garman, David Dukart, and Jacob Pladson.