Bev_Holt.jpgBev Holt was named the recipient of the Orville Johnson Meritorious Service Award at the annual Mayville State University employee recognition banquet held Tuesday evening, April 9, 2013. Holt is custodian in the facilities services department. She began her employment with Mayville State University in 1984. She will retire June 30, 2013.

One of the fellow Mayville State employees who nominated Bev for the award had this to say about her, “Bev is the most positive person! No matter what the time of the day, she is willing to help you out and does so with a smile! She is always a welcoming face on campus. Her dedication to her work is superb. She is conscientious and very good at her job. She has been a faithful steward for many years and will be sadly missed upon her retirement.”

The Orville Johnson Meritorious Service Award is given to an employee who shows outstanding dedication, loyalty, and trustworthiness towardMayvilleStateUniversityand his or her fellow employees. Each year, staff members nominate and select a fellow employee to receive the distinguished award.

Orville Johnson is remembered as a faithfulMayvilleStateemployee who worked as a custodian from 1959 until his retirement in 1980. Orville passed away on December 17, 1986. Upon his death, his family donated hisUnited Statesmilitary service flag and $10,000 toMayvilleState. The monetary donation is used to help honor and recognizeMayvilleStatestaff members.

As the recipient of the Orville Johnson Meritorious Service Award this year, Bev will have her name engraved on the Orville Johnson plaque (located in the lobby of the Mayville State Campus Center). She also received a framed award certificate and a $75.00 gift certificate to be spent at the Mayville State University Bookstore.

Other nominees for the Orville Johnson Meritorious Service Award this year were Cheryl Angen, Carolyn Kueber, Sheena Moe, Kara Schreiner, Kayla Smith, and Mary Trudeau.

Past recipients of the Orville Johnson Meritorious Service Award are Art Berglie, T. Howard Moen, Phyllis Dakken, Vrenda Bengtson, Avis Larson, Betty Karaim, Ken Eken, Janet Nielson, Rodney Gunderson, Brad Papenfuss, Karoline Jacobson, Marina “Winky” Gummer, Janice Sand, Becky Edinger, Beverly Holt, Janice Jorgensen, Andrea Knudson, Jim Lyng, Beth Swenson, Rendi Johnson-Ebach, Nancy Galde, Claudia Hastings, Dean Kostuck, Bryan Karolus, and Tom Moen.