Patrick_Chaffee-web.jpgThe annual MSU Foundation Honor Society president’s dinner, held Thursday evening, Oct. 27, gave tribute to many of Mayville State’s generous and faithful philanthropists. The Honor Society includes those who have made lifetime cumulative gifts amounting to $10,000 or more through the MSU Foundation. Gifts include contributions to all projects at Mayville State, including academic scholarships, facility improvements, Comet Athletic Club, Music Makers, and artificial turf.

“It is an honor for my wife, Debbie, and I to host the MSU Foundation Honor Society president’s dinner each year,” said MSU President Dr. Gary Hagen. “It is our pleasure to have that opportunity to recognize the members of the Honor Society and to thank them for their outstanding support that is so critical to the well-being of Mayville State University.”

The Honor Society is organized into clubs based on various giving levels. The Bronze Club includes donors of $10,000-$24,999; the Silver Club, donors of $25,000-$49,999; the Gold Club, donors of $50,000-$99,999; the Platinum Club, donors of $100,000-$249,999; the Diamond Club, donors of $250,000-$499,999; the Ambassador Club, donors of $500,000-$749,999; the Legacy Club, donors of $750,000-$999,999; and the Founder, donors of $1,000,000 and more.

The honor roll currently includes about 220 benefactors, including individuals, couples, businesses, matching gift programs, and other organizations, who have given a cumulative total of $10,000 or more over the years. This year, several new members joined the Bronze Club. They are Doug and Vonda Anderson, Brad Cleone_Whelan-web.jpgand Cheryl Angen, Jon and Kari Bakkum, Shannon and Denise Bergstrom, Jeff Braaten Family, Food Services of America, Gilbert and Elna Mae Herbel, Betty Karaim, Terry and Sandi Kemmer, John L. McCormick Memorial Trust, Dalton and Annie McMahon, and Tessa Nesheim. Herb Schultz became a new member of the Honor Society at the Silver Club level. Brent and Jennifer Kohls, Janice Dalzell Martinson, Robert D. Miess, Rick and Allison Newman, Garry and Karen Pierce, Kurt J. Skodje, Fred and Joanne Switzer, and Bradley and Marcia Wehe moved up to the Silver Club. Timothy S. Garrett and Gate City Bank advanced to the Gold Club, while Curtis and Lydia Larson moved into the Platinum Club and Donald H. Grage went up to the Diamond Club.  

“We are so very fortunate to be blessed with loyal alumni and friends who truly care about Mayville State University and who give of their financial and other resources to support the university,” said MSU Foundation Executive student_speakers-web.jpgDirector John Klocke. “This steadfast support is crucial to Mayville State’s success.”

The 2016 Honor Society president’s dinner was sponsored by Bell Bank Wealth Management, Citizens State Bank, Citizens Insurance Agency, and Brudvik Law Office.

If you’d like to make a financial contribution to Mayville State University or are interested in learning more about the MSU Foundation Honor Society, please call the MSU Foundation at 701-788-4687. 

Photo captions:

Top: Patrick Chaffee, executive vice president and managing director with Bell Bank Wealth Management addressed the audience at the Honor Society President’s Dinner. Bell Bank was one of the dinner sponsors.

Garrett-web.jpgSecond: Cleone Whelan, Crystal, N.D. was named the MSU Foundation Volunteer of the Year. She was recognized for her outstanding work on behalf of Mayville State as a member of the MSU Alumni Association board. She is also instrumental in the work of the Pembina County/Hoople MSU alumni group that has been very active in their support of Mayville State, not only in monetary assistance, but also in sending students.

Third: Pictured from left to right are MSU President Dr. Gary Hagen; Conor Quinn, Belfast, Ireland; Taylor Benneweis, Enderlin, N.D.; Aidan Quinn, Belfast, Ireland; and MSU Foundation Executive Director John Klocke. Conor, Taylor, and Aiden are Mayville State University students who attended the Wehe-web.jpgbanquet and thanked the Honor Society members for their support for Mayville State, support that is helping to make their educational pursuits possible.

Fourth: Tim Garrett (center), Mayville, N.D., is pictured with MSU Foundation Executive Director John Klocke (left) and MSU President Dr. Gary Hagen (right). Garrett moved up to membership in the Honor Society Gold Club this year.

Fifth: Brad and Marcia Wehe (center), Grand Forks, N.D., moved up to membership in the Honor Society Silver Club this year. They are pictured with MSU Foundation Executive Director John Klocke (left) and MSU President Dr. Gary
Hagen (right). Brad Wehe is a 1987 Mayville State graduate and a member of the MSU Foundation Board of Trustees Executive Committee.