February 11, 2024

Mayville State alumni and friends enjoyed gathering and catching up at the annual Mayville State festivities in Arizona.

The Traill County/Mayville State luncheon, a long-time tradition, was held at Apache Wells Country Club in Mesa Friday, Feb. 9. Those who attended enjoyed visiting, a lovely meal, and hearing updates from Mayville State University provided by Mayville State President Dr. Brian Van Horn and MSU Foundation Executive Director Lon Jorgensen.

About 70 of the Comet faithful braved rain and cool temperatures to participate in the Mayville State golf scramble held at Springfield Resort in Chandler on Saturday, Feb. 10. Several non-golfers joined in the fun of catching up and reminiscing while enjoying lunch in the clubhouse when the golfing was finished.

Jack Gerber, Dominic Schuster, Tanner Brundin, Gavin Miller, and Isaac Miller were the champs in the men’s division, edging out Matt Segerstrom, Steve Segerstrom, PJ Segerstrom, and Karter Segerstrom by one stroke.

In the women’s division, Vickie Wolden, Shawn Fugleberg, Tracy Braaten, and Julie Tunseth won bragging rights as the champs and the only all-women team who braved the elements on a wet and unseasonably cold morning.

Individual awards went to:

Women - Closest to the Pin, Dawn Cruff; Longest Drive, Tracy Braaten; and Longest Putt, Vickie Wolden.

Men - Closest to the Pin, Steve Segerstrom; Longest Drive, PJ Segerstrom; and Longest Putt, John Fugleberg.

It’s always a great time when Comets gather to celebrate their roots and support the legacy of the Mayville State Tradition. The MSU Alumni Association and Foundation thank all who participated and joined in the fun, as well as event sponsors Western State Bank and Liberty Wealth Management.

See photos.