Academic Freedom

Policy and Principles. Mayville State University, a member of the North Dakota University System and subject to the State Board of Higher Education, recognizes, the principles set forth in the 1940 Statement of Principles on Academic Freedom and adopted by the American Association of University Professors with 1970 Interpretive Comments: that the delivery of essential nature of academic freedom imbues a responsibility to institutions of higher education. Mayville State University and adopts this policy and ratifies its adherence to SBHE Policy 401.1 Academic Freedom, and in so doing reaffirms its commitment to fostering a free and open academic community for faculty members, students, and all other community members who engage in scholarly work.

References: SBHE Policy 401.1

Adopted: October, 2021

Sponsor: Dean of Student Affairs