Jeff Sieg.jpgJeff Sieg, Professor of Science, was named Mayville State University Teacher of the Year for 2018-2019. The award was presented to Sieg at the annual Academic and Student Senate Awards Program held at Mayville State University on Tuesday, April 30.

Other nominees for Mayville State’s 2018-2019 Teacher of the year were Brittany Hagen, Steven Petherbridge, Michael Kjelland, Rhonda Nelson, Michelle Warren, Bob Kohler, Kelli Odden, Fred Strand, Jade Erickstad, Sarah Anderson, Cody Hunter, Pam Johnson, Dalton McMahon, Sarah Kallock, Lonamalia Smith, Thomas Craig, Dustin Olson, Joseph Mehus, Dean Johnson, Rob Bennett, Aprill Hastings, Collette Christoffers, Donna Gutschmidt, Jeremiah Moen, Jeni Peterson, Ashley Nelson, Robert Tangsrud, Lynn Dilivio, Greta Paschke, Ted Stoa, Mary Townsend, Rob Johnston, and Billy Tomblin.

Each year, all Mayville State students are asked to make nominations for the Mayville State Teacher of the Year Award. The Student Senate meets to review nominations, then nominees are asked to complete a questionnaire. A short interview session is subsequently held with each of the nominees. Selections are made by weighing the student nominations, information submitted on the questionnaire, and information gleaned in the interview process. The final selection must be approved by a 2/3 majority vote of the MSU Student Senate.

Mayville State Teachers of the Year receive an engraved plaque and also have their names added to a plaque that is displayed in the Mayville State University Campus Center.