25_years_of_service-web.jpgThe Mayville State University employee recognition banquet, held Tuesday evening, March 29, 2016, was a tribute to the employees of Mayville State for their work and commitment to the university. The annual event was held at the Mayville State Campus Center Luckasen Room. All Mayville State employees and their spouses or guests were invited to attend, as were Mayville State retirees and spouses or guests.

The Mayville State family had the distinct pleasure of hosting North Dakota University System Chancellor Dr. Mark Hagerott for the event, as well. Dr. Hagerott addressed the gathering of Mayville State employees, commending them for their work that has led to the great success that is now being experienced at Mayville State University. He said he admires the wonderful community that has been built on the campus.

Six Mayville State employees who will retire, or who have retired, during this academic year were also recognized. They are Michael Bakken, Carol Enger, Raymond Gerszewski, Rebecca Gunderson, Janice Jorgensen, and Donna Mark. Gerszewski and Mark were unable to attend the banquet, but each of the others who were there had an opportunity to give their thanks to Mayville State students and their fellow employees.

jorgensen-web.jpgA highlight of the evening was the recognition of MSU President Dr. Gary Hagen for 40 years of service. Hagen came to Mayville State as an instructor in the Division of Business in 1976. He has held several positions over the years, including chairman of the Division of Business and CIS, chief information officer, vice president of academic affairs, and finally president. After being introduced by Vice President for Business Affairs, Dr. Hagen received a standing ovation. Under Hagen’s administration, the university has experienced record enrollment, academic success, and unprecedented physical plant improvements. President Hagen was quick to return those accolades to the Mayville State employees, commending them for doing the work that has made this renaissance of the university happen.

Alice Rice was named the 2016 recipient of the Orville Johnson Meritorious Service Award. This award recognizes outstanding service by members of Mayville State classified staff. Alice is a cook with MSU Dining Services.

Special recognition was given to those employees who have reached milestones in years of service. Those honored are as follows:

hagerott-web.jpg40 years of service – Gary Hagen.

35 years of service – Ernest Fyre.

25 years of service – Allison Johnson, Gene Levitt, Bradley Papenfuss, Mark Skean.

20 years of service – Connie Kaldor.

15 years of service – Douglas Kontz, Robert Kozojed, Timothy O’Brien, Patrick Steele.

10 years of service – Craig Keating.

5 years of service – Craig Bye, Michael Crawford, Andrea Dulski-Bucholz, Leslie Durkin, Laura Enger, Jessie Hegg, Alison Kaiser, Lois Karlstad, William Krivarchka, Erin Lord Kunz, Kristi Lentz, Kerry Nelson, Tara Nelson, David Pena, Peter Pratt, Robert Tangsrud. 

Captions for above photos: 

Top: These Mayville State employees were recognized for 25 years of service. They are (l-r) Mark Skean, Gene Levitt, Bradley Papenfuss, and Allison Johnson.

Middle: Janice Jorgensen will retire at the end of April, after working in the business office at Mayville State for 47 years.

Bottom: North Dakota University System Chancellor Dr. Mark Hagerott attended the annual Mayville State University employee recognition dinner on March 29. Hagerott commended the Mayville State employees for their outstanding work.