Dustin_Olson-web.jpgMayville State University’s Collegiate DECA chapter made a strong impact at the North Dakota Collegiate DECA Career Development Conference in Fargo, N.D. Feb. 8 and 9. The annual state conference provides an opportunity to compete in business-related events. More than 125 students representing ten North Dakota colleges and universities participated. Sixteen Mayville State students qualified for the international competition which will be held in Orlando, Fla. April 18-21.

Mayville State award-winners and the events in which they competed are as follows:

Business ResearchFirst place – Leigh Dean,Tullamarine, Australia; Leighanna Helgoe, Cavalier, N.D.; and Brock Sherva, Northwood, N.D.; Second place - Niralee Ranchod, Harare, Zimbabwe; Kaitlyn Timian, Arthur, N.D.; and Remington Werner, Hector, Minn.

Financial Statement AnalysisFirst place – Rochester Mugumbate, Harare, Zimbabwe; Abby Niemann, Hoople, N.D.; and Beau Sorenson, Hawley, Minn.

Advertising CampaignThird place – Josh Seminario, Fairbanks, Alaska; Nicole Meyer, Mounds View, Minn.; and Chis Snook, Newton, N.J.

Hotel & LodgingSecond place – Remington Werner, Hector, Minn.

Marketing ManagementThird place – Allan Nota, Harare, Zimbabwe.

Business EthicsFirst place – Rochester Mugumbate, Harare, Zimbabwe, and Laura Ewert, Devils Lake, N.D.; Second place – Brock Sherva, Northwood, N.D., and Amber Montag, Finley, N.D.

Fashion Merchandising & MarketingThird place – Kaitlyn Timian, Arthur, N.D.

Project ManagementFirst place – Amber Montag, Finley, N.D.

Banking Financial ServicesFirst place – Brock Sherva, Northwood, N.D.; Third place – Landon Rude, Pembina, N.D.

AccountingSecond place – Rochester Mugumbate, Harare, Zimbabwe.

Corporate FinanceNational Qualifier – Josh Seminario, Fairbanks, Alaska.

International MarketingThird place – Leigh Dean, Tullamarine, Australia, and Leighanna Helgoe, Cavalier, N.D.; National Qualifier – Chris Snook, Newton, N.J., and Niralee Ranchod, Harare, Zimbabwe.

Retail ManagementNational Qualifier – Chris Snook, Newton, N.J.

Sales Management MeetingNational Qualifier – Landon Rude, Pembina, N.D.

In addition to a great showing in the competitive events, Mayville State University also won two team awards: the Community Service Award and the 25+ Chapters Challenge. MSU chapter members Amber Montag and Josh Seminario received the North Dakota Collegiate DECA Outstanding Service Award. Mayville State’s Dustin Olson was named North Dakota Advisor of the Year.  

Photo Captions:
Top: Dustin Olson was named the North Dakota Collegiate DECA Advisor of the Year. 
Bottom: Mayville State University Collegiate DECA representatives who participated in the Career Development Conference in Fargo Feb. 8 and 9. Pictured in the back row (l-r): Advisor Rob Johnston, Niralee Ranchod, Landon Rude, Kaitlyn Timian, Leigh Dean, Brock Sherva, Leighanna Helgoe, Nicole Meyer, Beau Sorenson, Allan Nota, Chris Snook, Rochester Mugumbate, Josh Seminario, and advisor Dustin Olson. In the front row (l-r) are Madeleyne Gallardo Irias, Monica Perez, Amber Montag, Remington Werner, and Laura Ewert.Mayville_State_University_DECA-web.jpg