Angen, Cheryl.jpgJune 12, 2020

Cheryl Angen was named the recipient of the Orville Johnson Meritorious Service Award for 2020. Angen is a clerk at the Mayville State Bookstore. Normally, the award would have been presented at the annual Mayville State University employee recognition banquet, but since that was cancelled this year due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the award was presented during a staff coffee break held via Zoom on June 2. Since many staff are working remotely at this time, a Zoom meeting was the next best thing to being together and congratulating Cheryl in person.

The Orville Johnson Meritorious Service Award is given to an employee who shows outstanding dedication, loyalty, and trustworthiness toward MayvilleStateUniversity and his or her fellow employees. Each year, staff members nominate and select a fellow employee to receive the distinguished award.

A fellow Mayville State employees who nominated Cheryl for the award had this to say about her, “Cheryl represents the bookstore and Mayville State University the way it should be. She is always ready to lend a helping hand to students who need it and is a welcoming person when you walk through campus. Cheryl also is extremely supportive when it comes to Mayville State events. She and her family are always willing to donate. They are at all events and are easily some of the most devoted fans for all athletics!”

Another nominator said, “Cheryl has been a supporter of this university for multiple years and has been part of not only helping with the bookstore and all of those duties, but also showing support for the MSU Foundation and attending all MSU athletic events, building relationships with students. Cheryl is always there to answer any questions anyone has and if she doesn’t know, she will point you in the right direction.”

Orville Johnson is remembered as a faithful Mayville State employee who worked as a custodian from 1959 until his retirement in 1980. Orville passed away on December 17, 1986. Upon his death, his family donated his United States military service flag and $10,000 to MayvilleState. The monetary donation is used to help honor and recognize MayvilleState staff members.

As the recipient of the Orville Johnson Meritorious Service Award this year, Cheryl’s name will be engraved on the Orville Johnson plaque (located in the lobby of the Mayville State Campus Center). She also received a framed award certificate and a $75.00 gift certificate to be spent at the Mayville State University Bookstore.

Other nominees for the Orville Johnson Meritorious Service Award this year were Connie Kaldor, Matt Dalrymple, Debi O’Brien, Doug Eastman, Courtney Peterson, Jim Morowski, Jessi Hegg, Katie Richards, Brad Papenfuss, and Dr. Andrew Pflipsen.

Past recipients of the Orville Johnson Meritorious Service Award are Art Berglie, T. Howard Moen, Phyllis Dakken, Vrenda Bengtson, Avis Larson, Betty Karaim, Ken Eken, Janet Nielson, Rodney Gunderson, Brad Papenfuss, Karoline Jacobson, Marina “Winky” Gummer, Janice Sand, Becky Edinger, Beverly Holt, Janice Jorgensen, Andrea Knudson, Jim Lyng, Beth Swenson, Rendi Johnson-Ebach, Nancy Galde, Claudia Hastings, Dean Kostuck, Bryan Karolus, Tom Moen, Bev Holt, Lou Dauphanais,  Marge Fugleberg, Alice Rice, Rick Karboviak, Misti Wuori, and Lois Karlstad.