MAYVILLE STATE UNIVERSITY FACULTY ASSOCIATION AND SENATE CONSTITUTION

Article VI. Qualifications, Nominations, and Election of Officers

Section A. Qualifications

- 1. Members of the Association who have held membership two (2) full academic years prior to election and are tenured are eligible to hold the office of President or Vice President.
- 2. Members of the Association who have held memberships one (1) academic year prior to election are eligible to hold the office of Secretary.
- 3. Members having served two (2) terms in an office of the Association, partial terms not counted, shall be ineligible for re-election.

Section B. Nomination

- 1. A nominating committee, consisting of the divisional representatives on the Senate, shall nominate at least two (2) candidates for each of the three (3) elective offices on the Faculty Senate. The report of the nominating committee shall be distributed to the membership of the Association two weeks and one day prior to the election day.
- 2. Nomination for elective offices also may be by petition, with signatures of five (5) voting members of the Association and an affidavit of the member's agreement to serve attached. The Secretary will prepare and have available nomination petitions. Completed petitions shall be filed with the Secretary one week and one day prior to the election day.
 - A list of all nominees will be circulated to the Faculty Association by the Secretary one (1) week prior to the election. The Secretary will prepare ballots for the election of officers to be held at a meeting of the Association during April.
- 3. Ballots shall include a designated "write-in" space for each office. Nominations from the floor shall be received at the time of the elections.

Section C. Election

The election of the President and Vice President of the Association/Senate shall be by majority vote of the members voting. If one candidate does not receive a majority of the votes cast, a run-off election between the two (2) candidates receiving the largest and second-largest number of votes shall be held at the same meeting. Election of the Secretary shall be by plurality.